Spanish Map of Unique Scientific and Technical Infrastructures

The Spanish Unique Scientific and Technical Infrastructures (ICTS, by its Spanish initials) are located throughout the country and are displayed on the “Map of Unique Scientific and Technical Infrastructures (ICTS).” The first Map of ICTS was agreed upon at the III Conference of Presidents, held on 11 January 2007. This Map was in force until 7 October 2014, when the Science and Technology Policy Council (CPCTI) approved the current Map, composed of 29 ICTS that bring together a total of 59 facilities.

The updating of the Spanish ICTS Map has been the tool used to implement ex ante assessment in regards to the investment priorities of the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) “enhancing research and innovation (R&I) infrastructure and capacities to develop R&I excellence and promoting centres of competence” At the same time, it has been coordinated with the Regional Research and Innovation Strategies for Smart Specialisation (RIS3), which are instruments to assist regions in proposing and reaching optimal choices for their prosperity. As a consequence of this, the ICTS will be able to benefit from co-financing by the ERDF over the Programming Period 2014-2020.

Moreover, the Spanish ICTS are aligned with the European Strategy Forum on Research Infrastructures (ESFRI) and with other international plans of specific application, including those on the agendas of the European Technological Platforms, the Joint Technology Initiatives (JTI) and Joint Programming Initiatives (JPIs). In this manner the scientific and technological competitiveness of all Spanish infrastructures is assured and promoted on the international stage, and in particular the ICTS.

Find out more:  Map of Unique Scientific and Technical Infrastructures (ICTS)